The second formidable and second most colonized continent among the seven continents of the world is Africa. Its area is about 30.3 million squares kilometer and it covers about the 6% of the Earth’s surface which is almost 20.4% of Earth’s land area. Its 1.2 billion inhabitants constitute 16% of the world’s population. With such huge inhabitants, it holds the second position among all the continents.

If we take a glance at the globe we will see that it is bounded by the Red Sea along with Suez Canal from the Northeast, by the Mediterranean Sea from the north, by the Indian Ocean from the southeast and by the Atlantic Ocean from the west. This continent comprises of many islands and Madagascar is the famous one. There are 54 officially recognized states, 9 territories and 2 unrecognized states.

If you want to get the list of countries of the continent Africa then in this article, we will explore the states of Africa and some interesting facts about them, so read the article till the end.

list of countries in Africa

Sub-Division Of Africa

Africa is further divided into these regions for the ease.

  • West Africa
  • Eastern Africa
  • Northern Africa
  • Southern Africa
  • Middle Africa
  • De Facto states and Territories

Each region includes different countries and let’s discuss them one-by-one.

West Africa

With a population of about 154.7 million people, Nigeria is the most populated country in Africa. Its inhabitants are about 18% of the population of Africa. This region comprises these countries.

  • Nigeria
  • Ghana
  • Côte d’Ivoire
  • Niger
  • Burkina Faso
  • Mali
  • Senegal
  • Guinea
  • Benin
  • Togo
  • Sierra Leone
  • Liberia
  • Mauritania
  • Cabo Verde
  • Gambia
  • Guinea-Bissau

Eastern Africa

  • Around 200,000 years old human remains are discovered in Ethiopia.
  • Madagascar is not just the biggest island in Africa but also the 4th largest islands in the world.
  • Victoria Falls, one of the 7 natural wonders of the world, is also located in the Zimbabwe and Zambia. Their height is about 355 feet and the width is about 1 mile.
  • The highest peak in Africa, Mount Kilimanjaro, is located in Tanzania and is rising about 19,340 feet above sea level. It comprises of 20 states.


  • Ethiopia
  • Tanzania
  • Kenya
  • Uganda
  • Mozambique
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe
  • South Sudan
  • Rwanda
  • Burundi
  • Somalia
  • Eritrea
  • Mauritius
  • Djibouti
  • Comoros
  • Seychelles

Northern Africa

Oldest civilization, the great civilization of Egypt, 3300 BC dating back, is found on this continent.

Sudan is the largest country of Africa which comprises the area about 968,000 square miles. It comprises only these countries.

  • Egypt
  • Sudan
  • Algeria
  • Morocco
  • Tunisia
  • Libya

Southern Africa

One of the largest and most populated countries in the world is South Africa which has a wide range of religions, cultures and 11 different languages recognized by its constitution.

It comprises these countries

  • South Africa
  • Namibia
  • Botswana
  • Lesotho
  • Swaziland

Middle Africa

Although the Central African Republic has remarkable resources of uranium, cobalt, crude oil, diamond gold and lumber, still it is one of the poorest countries in the world.

  • DR Congo
  • Angola
  • Cameroon
  • Chad
  • Central African Republic
  • Congo
  • Gabon
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Sao Tome and Principe

De Facto States And Territories

Territories that are ruled as incorporated non-african state parts or external dependencies

  • Canary Islands
  • Melila 
  • The Islands of Mayotte
  • Region of Madeira 
  • Saint Helena, Ascension & Tristan de Cuhna 
  • French Southern Antarctica Land 
  • Reunion 
  • Lampione and Lampedusa 
  • Plaza de Soberania 
  • Mayotte 

I hope you liked my post about countries in Africa and if you have any query or want to give suggestions then write it down in the comments section. For more articles of your interest, you may visit Education category at TryArticles.