Memorialize Facebook Account: Everyone is signing up on various social platforms like Telegram, Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, Snap chat and Twitter accounts. As social networks are intended for us so that we can tell everyone about our daily life routine, we also publish content, connect with our friends and share our lives but what happens when life is over?
Question is that what happens to Facebook Account when any user dies? You can see that every day on Facebook notified you about friendship requests or someone’s birthday although they are dead. Can you not do anything? In this article, we will discuss with you about Memorialize Facebook Account when someone dies”?
What Happens If Nobody Warns Facebook?
As we share every possible thing on facebook so Facebook might be able to detect if a user has died by changes in their account and the messages they leave for their loved ones and now they are not using that information for anything.
So if the account holder died and Facebook don’t get any notification about death then nothing will change. Facebook will deal with it as the user has stopped using the social network, but for some reasons, their profile will still be on Facebook.
Memorialize Facebook Account Closure
When a friend or relative notifies Facebook about the death of a user then Facebook can close the account, so you must make a “Special request for the account of a deceased person”. For this Facebook will ask you for your information, the full name of the deceased, email, and URL of their page also, in addition, it will ask you what your relationship to the deceased was and what you want to do.
There are some options for you like one option is to delete this account. You will also have to provide the date of death and, if possible, a death certificate.
Conversion Into A Commemorative Account
Facebook has started thinking about their deceased users, that’s why they have recently introduced the concept of legacy contracts. So any user could choose within their Facebook settings who they want to deal with their account.
Who Owns The Data?
Here the question is can other people log into the Facebook account of a deceased user and see everything that was in private? If they don’t know the password then answer is definitely no. Facebook always tried best to protects the privacy of its users even after death so that these secrets will go with them to the grave and cannot be viewed.
What About The Facebook Account Username?
As we know that Facebook does not allow duplicate usernames but this rule changes when a user dies. In such cases, their username is released and other users could claim it and use it for themselves. The original account can be deleted or simply have become a commemorative account, but it will no longer be active.
Delete Or Memorialize Facebook Account
There are two options: you can get Facebook to delete the account or to memorialize it.
If you choose to delete the account, then all the comments, photos etc will also be deleted, unless you take legal steps to preserve them. This is a privacy issue as Facebook says: “The application to obtain account content is a lengthy process and will require you to obtain a court order.”
If you choose memorialization, Facebook changes a number of things:
- No one can log in to the account
- You can’t change, add to or delete existing content.
- Automated activities such as daily quotes or horoscopes are stopped.
- Memorialized accounts don’t appear in “public spaces” like birthday reminders, People You May Know, or searches.
- Memorialized accounts can only be accessed by the user’s confirmed friends.
However, the original content stays in place also Facebook adds, “Depending on the privacy settings of the deceased person’s account, friends can share memories on the memorialized Timeline”.
If you have access to the account, you could hide or remove some content, including any inappropriate posts that might have appeared on her wall. But this is risky as Facebook says: “it is always a violation of our policies to log into another person’s account”.
Facebook will not delete active accounts because any account activity after the reported date of death will obviously look suspicious. Although you could set up a separate memorial page, you would have to spend time managing it.
Memorialisation removes that burden. However, to be effective, the memorialization process has to be quick. In that context, a six-month wait looks unacceptable.
It’s presumably not only Facebook most people have several personal accounts of various sorts, and some people have dozens. The most common ones are email services such as Gmail and Hotmail/Outlook, messaging services such as WhatsApp and Skype, and shopping services such as Amazon and eBay.
There are many others, including Instagram, Twitter, Tumblr, Flickr, Pinterest, Snapchat, and Dropbox. PCs and smartphones may also be protected by passwords. It could take a lot of time to deal with all of these accounts, especially as most of them don’t seem to have a process like Facebook’s.
If you want your spouse or other family members to deal with your digital stuff after you’ve gone, it’s a good idea to make a list of the log-on names, passwords, and associated email addresses. You could put the details in a letter, but it would be better to use an encrypted file and leave the password with someone you trust.
Conversely, there may be sites or services that you don’t want family members to access. In which case, don’t store the details in an accessible web browser, but use a secure password manager instead. There are a number of online companies that will store this kind of information.
These include Legacy Locker/Password Box, Securesafe’s Data Inheritance, Asset Lock, and Cirrus Legacy, but I’m not sure they are necessary. Otherwise, a blog post by US-based Anderson Elder Law, Don’t Forget to Include Your Digital Assets in Your Estate Planning, provides some useful advice.
You can leave instructions with an executor, but don’t put password details in a traditional British will. When a will goes to probate, it becomes a public record.
An App That Handles Your Last Messages
One last option not accomplished directly via Facebook is a third party application called “If I Die.” “If I Die” has videos that explain the different things that can happen to your Facebook profile when you die.
The first and only application of its kind, “If I Die” allows you to create a video, message, or text message that can be scheduled to send after you pass. The application can be added on Facebook by adding the application on Facebook allows you to have it personalize a profile page for you.
Related Post! You can also read How To See Who Blocked Me On Instagram?
You can leave a video or report the death of somebody else directly through the application. Everything is done via the application.
In order to schedule a message to be sent out after you die, you click on the “Leave a message” button, and it brings you to a screen, where you can leave and receive personal, public, and private messages from other application users after you or a loved one passes.
This application is useful in providing closure and letting everyone in your life know that you love them prior to having your Facebook account deleted or memorialized via one of the steps above. They have a YouTube channel devoted to video clips introducing the application, ways to best use it, and all of its features.
If there is ever a question of intellectual property related to the deceased’s profile, you can report a problem, ask a question, or seek further guidance from Facebook in how to handle it.
I hope all your queries are solved now if you read this article carefully and if you like to read similar articles like “What Happens To Facebook Account When Someone Dies” or Memorialize Facebook Account? then you could visit our Technology category. Moreover, if you have any question then you could tell us in the comment section below. TryArticles will try to answer your question as soon as possible.